Configuration questions

Oct 4, 2011 at 7:32 AM

I'll start off by saying that this appears to be a teriffic plugin capable of doing exactly what I've been wishing for. I really appreciate those who take the time and put forth the effort for those of us to use as well.

I'm not sure what I'm missing as far as configuration, but I believe I've followed the installation instructions. I'm using Windows 7 x64, LCDsmartie 5.4.2.92, installed TcpIpController and MCE_dll v0.9.16.193.

LCDsmartie is configured properly for my display ftdi lis vfd (nmedia pro-lcd).

I've entered functions $dll(MCE_dll.dll,1,,) as well as $dll(MCE_dll.dll,11,,) and both display undefined while Media Center is running

Function $dll(MCE_dll.dll,2,,) displays the proper time and date.

I appologize if there is something basic I am missing, but I'm still rather new with LCDsmartie all together.

Brian

Coordinator
Oct 4, 2011 at 1:20 PM

Brian, first inclination would be to check that tcpipcontroller is running. You can do this using the utility in the mce_dll download folder called MCE_Tracer. Just run it and if Media Centre is running it should list out trace messages. If it isn't then tcpip controller is the problem. Did you remember to reboot after tcpipcontroller was installed? If it is running then let me know and we can investigate further.

Dave

Oct 4, 2011 at 5:38 PM

Hi Dave,

Thank you for the response.

I did indeed reboot after installing tcpipcontroller. As a matter of fact I ran into some issues while trying to install it. I had to manually kill ehrecvr.exe in order to go through the entire installation; otherwise, the installation would stop about tree quarters of the way through and then back out without installing. 

I did run MCE_Tracer this morning while Media Center is running and the command window opens and then closes almost instantly. I'm not sure if the tracer was supposed to create a log file in it's folder, but I did look and nothing there.